Bishopston Supper Club

So! The rather belated review this week is of Bishopston Supper Club which is run by Danielle Coombs.

Here’s the menu;

Roast Exmoor venison, slow-roast shoulder of Gloucester Old Spot pork OR mushroom, celeriac and lentil Wellington (v), all served with lots of veggies and all the trimmings.

Marmalade sponge pudding with whisky custard OR salt caramel chocolate tart.

I went for the pork and the salt caramel chocolate tart.

20130202-191704.jpg

As you can see, there’s plenty of amazing thing on that plate! I’m a huge fan of roasts where stuff’s been done to the veg. One of the places that used to be my absolute favourites has been ousted from my favour is for their decision to switch from braised cabbage, creamed leeks etc to just steamed veg. I’m sure it’s healthier and easier, but I’m not looking for that in my roast…

Anyway! On that plate you can see a big pile of pork, cabbage (January King if I remember correctly) roast parsnips, roast (??) carrots, white bean mash, carrot and swede mash, cauliflower cheese, braised red cabbage, roasties, a yorkie and home made apple sauce.

We were given our plates with just the meat and all the sides were brought to the table in dishes (and dishes and dishes) for helping ourselves. I took a picture of the sides as they were arriving, and I kept having to take another and another as more arrived.

20130202-192540.jpg

I have been to one of Danielle’s Sunday roast clubs before, and knew that we’d be in for a treat. I was not disappointed. The meat was incredibly tender, and each and every one of the sides was amazing.

Pork; tender, succulent, flavourful.

Green cabbage;  a wonderful, fresh green. Just enough crunch remaining.

Roast parsnips and carrots; tender and sweet. Went brilliantly with the pork.

White bean mash; this was a new one for me with a roast! It was wonderfully smooth and silky. Lovely.

Carrot and swede mash; I really have no idea how Danielle made these humble veg taste so incredible. I could have eaten a whole bowlful, seriously.

Cauliflower cheese; Simple and tasty. The cauliflower was perfectly cooked. I’m not really a big fan of cauliflower but went back for seconds of this (and maybe, ahem, thirds…)

Braised red cabbage; one of my favourite, favourite things in a roast. I judge it quite harshly as I think my own is pretty spectacular (thanks Saint Delia). Danielle’s was finely sliced which I really liked (being a bit of a lazy chopper myself) and it was just the right amount of sweetness and had a great depth of spiced flavour.

Roasties; Oh roasties. There were great – fluffy and tasty. Just the right amount of squidge to satisfy me, and enough crunch to satisfy the boyfriend. That’s pretty incredible, really.

Yorkie; (extra yorkies came later than the photo, which were even bigger and fluffier) crisp, light fantastic. I really don’t like over-done yorkies and these were great.

Home made apple sauce; not too sweet, nice chunks of apple.

I loved the fact that we could help ourselves to whatever we wanted and as much as we wanted. I really cannot praise this roast enough. I loved it. LOVED it. I was very glad that I’d been driven there as walking home would have been quite a challenge. The carrot and swede mash, braised cabbage and, of course, the meat were highlights for me. I could have eaten any of those on their own for a meal and been happy.

Next, pudding. Amazingly, yes, I did have room. There was just enough space between courses to make a chocolate-tart-shaped hole in my appetite. I don’t really like pastry, but luckily the pastry on this was incredibly thin and crisp and was very tasty, almost biscuity. The chocolate filling was dark and the perfect balance of sweet and bitter. The salt caramel sauce was excellent. My only criticism was that I’d have like more salt caramel, though I should temper this with the fact I regularly eat salt caramel straight from the jar with a spoon, so I’m perhaps not to be trusted where salt caramel amounts are concerned… I really, really enjoyed this pudding.

 20130202-192550.jpg

Next up, coffee/tea and truffles. Oh the truffles. Some of the best I’ve ever had.

20130202-192557.jpg

20130202-192603.jpg

Danielle also bought out an ‘extra’ pudding. Rosewater and raspberry parfait. I am addicted to rosewater. And parfait. This was sublime. Danielle’s parfaits are always wonderful – her caramel one is one of my all time favourite puddings, ever. This rosewater and rhubarb one was fantastic too – it was incredibly fresh and light, but just rich enough to still be extremely satisfying.

My only, very small criticism of the roast as a whole is that the crackling wasn’t crunchy enough. To be completely honest, if Danielle hadn’t  said she was unhappy with it, or had left it off the plate, I’d have not even thought about crackling – the plate was no less awesome for the lack of crackling.

I could happily litter this entire review with superlatives and each and every one would be well-deserved. If you get the chance to go to Danielle’s roasts, go. In fact, I strongly suggest trampling your nearest and dearest in order to get to one.

Bishopston Supper Club; 9.5/10

One thought on “Bishopston Supper Club

  1. Pingback: DAY 43 (100 hours to go) | Juliet Dunstone - Eco Warrior!

Leave a Reply

